Not use, but ornament

These plastic body puffs haven’t been used in yonks. They hang together from an S-hook on the shower rail instead.

‘Why?’ you ask?

Because they match the colour scheme. Oh, right – not what you meant. Because they wear out after repeated use, then they get chucked in the bin and sent to landfill. Replacements are bought, and the cycle cycles.

‘Can’t they be recycled?’

No idea, but why make and use them when there are plastic-free alternatives?

‘Like what?’

Cotton flannels.* When they get a bit grubby, bung ‘em in the wash with the towels. Sorted.

In other news, I think I have finally fixed the thing I broke that gave me a migraine (still migraine-free at the moment).

I imagine you’re wondering what on earth I broke. Let me tell you.

I broke my website. Completely and utterly and irreversibly.

All I did was upgrade the operating system (OS) because the OS told me to. I did it without taking a snapshot (essentially, taking a backup of the entire disk).

My web host told me the only solution was to spin up a new server (the servers are virtual) and move the content from the broken one to the new one, without upgrading the OS.

This involved a lot of faff that I couldn’t have done without instructions. I took lots of snapshots on the way.

Eventually, I got it all into a state where it worked, so I deleted the original server and some of the snapshots.

I realised there was still one thing that didn’t work. I think I’ve fixed it now, but it’s hard to tell because the server is still switched off from taking that last snapshot. Perhaps I should turn it back on.


* Ideally responsibly produced cotton.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.