Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Dereliction

I've always found graffiti strangely appealing although I'm not in favor of defacing things in general.  However, in this instance, it's an old railroad bridge that is literally in the middle of nowhere, and the "art" seems somehow right.  Of course, it's not exactly a fine example of street art - more likely some bored high school kids with a can of spray paint and too much free time.  Anyway, with the crumbling cement of the bridge and the amateur art, I think it works for the Derelict challenge (and thanks to Marlieske for keeping it going).  

After taking a nice walk at lunchtime, Jax and I headed out for some errands.  First up was the vet where we got Phoebe's thyroid meds and Jax's heart worm/tick/flea prevention meds.  We also got his weight which was just a notch over 62 pounds.  He could probably stand to gain a couple of pounds.  From there, we went to the pet store which is usually a grand outing for Jax.  I was less than delighted when, as we were walking the aisles, he suddenly lifted his leg and PEED!  Frankly, I was slightly horrified as he's never done that before.  And then, before I could collect my wits, he did it again.  Being a pet store, they have "clean up" stations so I grabbed paper towels and enzyme spray and cleaned up.  But I hope this isn't going to become a regular thing!  After that harrowing experience, we took a windows-down drive on a country road so he could enjoy the smells.  Now he is passed out in front of the fire.  

I decided not to watch the State of the Union last night, although Hubs watched it.  I read all the key points today and saw several clips of the appallingly bad behavior from the Floor.  Our elected officials didn't used to behave like a bunch of undisciplined thugs but now bad behavior seems to be the norm on both sides of the aisle.  I liked it better when people at least acted like they respected one another.  Oh well.

Plain dark today, maybe two squares.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.