Tooth Extraction

Sorry for the graphic photo!  It is quite disgusting to look at!  And that wee dirty bit of decay - YUK!!

My appointment at the dentist was for 9am so it was an unusually early start to the day.  I had requested a diazepam from the doc a couple of weeks ago as I was quite anxious about this, and had taken one the night before and the second was taken at 8.  They were only 2mg but I felt quite woozy about 20 mins after taking the breakfast one!  I was definitely unsteady on my feet and glad that S was accompanying me to the appointment, there and waiting and then back.

I had agreed to do the blood plasma thing so I had four tubes of blood to give.  That was no problem, my blood comes out easy without the need for the strap on the arm.  the blood is then put into a centrifuge in an oven and spins so the blood separates into something called a web to put onto the site where the tooth came out!  It helps speed up the healing, less pain etc.  Quite amazing!  It's not a blood colour, its like a dirty yellow gel.

Elaine is my dentist and she explained to me what she was doing as the tooth was dislodged and then pulled.  When she pulled I didn't feel pain but obviously the noise, I was quite nervous  and my leg was moving around loads and I was gripping the arms.  After it was out a swab was stuffed in the hole to stop the blood, and then She then put the plasma stuff on.  That was her job done.  Rosamund, her assistant and I sat for a little while to get my heart rate down and to stop the shaking.We had a chat about various things and I got my instructions of what to do at home.  I was well looked after and was not rushed.  Sat for a while in the waiting room and then off homes. 

Today I’ve mostly sat on the sofa.  Drinking water and ive only to eat soft food today and no hot drinks so it’s been a mashed banana for lunch then mashed tatties and mince for tea.  Ben was here for a short while but he was horrified at the tooth calling it absolutely disgusting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.