The Great Rebound

We worked on phase three of our attic clean up today. Once again, we piled up a good amount of discarded boxes in my garage bay. Hubby had to empty his truck before we could load them up. He bought his edger while he was out. Guess I moved the wardrobe boxes in that area and forgot about them 20+ years ago. Three were filled with Kristen and my dress clothes and hubby’s Naval Officer uniforms were in a fourth. I lost over 30 pounds during my divorce. After meeting hubby a few years later, I regained some of them so these clothes were probably tight when we moved. Hubby had retired and no longer needed his uniforms. I separated my packing material into those emptied wardrobe boxes: peanuts, air pillows, bubble wrap and packing paper sheets. Love being organized. That emptied several smaller boxes. We scoped out how we will arrange the attic once we are ready to move stuff back in. I also worked on Christmas boxes that we’ll keep, changed the bed linens and did a load of laundry. We were beat so we had a late lunch, showered and rested for a bit. Then it was time to attend a production by Skylar and the other seniors in her theater and arts program. They each had an individual act. Sky, who was scheduled later in the program, had two songs and two monologues. Some of the performers mentioned they’d only had two weeks to prepare and some were performing their work for the first time. Sky was given a very sad song and midway into it, she had an all out panic attack and left the stage. When Kristen checked on her, the principal was giving her a caring pep talk. He has mentored her since freshman year. When she came back on stage, she was her bubbly self, made a joke about the situation and did a great job. But her Gram was a wreck. I was quite proud of her rebound and so was the audience who showed their support with much applause. When I got home and hubby offered, I gladly accepted a glass of wine. Sure hope your day was less stressful. Enjoy your weekend. Thanks for stopping by. “The greater the obstacle, the more glory in overcoming it.” – Molière

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.