Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Individual

(12/2/23)

So thankful it is the weekend! We'd already agreed with Diane to watch the movie "What's Love Got To Do With It". I had tried to buy tickets last night while waiting for my Zoom call to start, but none of my cards worked to get the 2-for-1 deal, so in the end, I had to ask Diane to do it.

She managed to get them early, so as we had a spare ticket, we invited our friend (and ex-colleague) Farzan. Farzan was in the middle of a beauty treatment that needed eight hours. She surprised us by dressing in a way we'd never seen her before (see extra). She was standing at the top of the escalators waiting for us, but none of us saw her. There you go!

Farzan and I found the movie particularly entertaining, especially as we can identify with some of the cultural aspects. There was also a bit of talking in Urdu, which I translated. In general, there were a few laugh-out-loud moments in the theatre.

We went on to Icons for a coffee. That was a really good and happy time. We all chose different drinks (my blip). I hope it isn't too long before we can meet again to enjoy each other's company and share ideas. Farzan treated us.

Back home, time seems to keep vanishing. I was able to line up all my pictures for my back blips. Now I need to write something of the day to record it for posterity! :)) Geraldine found the movie "The Song of Names" on one of the free channels. Wow. Some things are hard to watch. This one had us gripped and prompted some chatter when it finished.

PS. G went out for a meeting with Margaret for the World Day of Prayer and came home with just minutes to spare before we had to head out again. I took the opportunity to tidy up and phone my nephew in Australia who turned 26 yesterday. Yikes! I still remember what I was doing on the day he was born! And how excited we all were.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.