A GREAT SERVICE - DESPITE THE DIFFICULTIES

I was a little concerned first thing this morning because my iPhone had the “black screen of death” and no  matter what I did, I could not resurrect it.  I tried taking the phone out of the case, using a different cable and plug, using a different plug socket but still no joy, so I had to leave it plugged in and go to Church because I was leading and we needed to get there early.

Although we were there by 9.30 a.m. the front of the Church was quite a mess, with the tops of music stands and drum sticks thrown around, sweet papers scattered, leads missing, labels torn off cables and general mayhem.  We knew that another Church group had used the premises last night, but it took us over 40 minutes to sort out the issues.  

We needed to practise because our practise on Wednesday evening had not been as thorough as I would have liked, because the keyboard player was unfortunately not available, but it seemed as if time was running out on us.  

However, at 10.20, with not a note sung, I decided, as the leader of the service that we needed to pray with the Worship Group and Richard, the speaker so we did just that.  I had already reminded the group on Wednesday that this was not a “performance” but there was one particular song we needed to practise before we sang it this morning.  Fortunately, after we had prayed, I felt quite peaceful about the situation and all went well - there were a couple of little glitches, but I’m sure that we brought a smile to the Face of God, especially when I encouraged ALL the congregation to do the actions to the song, helped from the front by Laura and Grace and it looked as if everyone, bar one honest soul, who said she had not done the actions, had great fun doing them.  

Interestingly, although it was a difficult start, I did feel very calm and we had a good service - with a great sermon from Richard - and I’m sure I will listen again to the service.  If you want to listen and even see the service, you will find it here.

I did remember to put my Panasonic camera into my bag this morning, so took several shots.  When I got home, I was happy to see that my iPhone was working, so was able to edit the photograph, using the PhotoRoom app, which takes the background out and leaves just the main components, today being the cross and also the beautiful flowers that were in Church for the Service of Thanksgiving for Rev’d John Harris on Wednesday.  It’s good to remember that the cross is central to our faith and also to remember John, a former Minister, and all he meant to so many people, not only in Swindon but in other parts of the country too.

I am very fond of the writings of John O’Donohue so I leave you with this quote praying that you may be a blessing to all you meet this week:

“May we all receive blessing upon blessing. 
     And may we realise our power to bless, 
          heal, and renew one another.”
John O'Donohue : 
To Bless the Space Between Us: A Book of Invocations and Blessings

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.