Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Butterfly House

I’ve had a day of gardening so far today. This morning I spent some time at the Butterfly House with 6 other volunteers and we had a productive time in the community garden and also tidying and cutting back inside the BH itself. It’s great to see that many of the tropical plants have survived and there are signs of new growth everywhere. We even have this Mexican Bluewing still flying - amazing considering the lack of food and heating over the winter. There is also a lovely bird of paradise flowering. 
This afternoon I have spent nearly 3 hours in my own garden/greenhouse repotting and cutting off dead bits of my autumn sown seedlings that had been badly neglected this winter. They look much better now and apart from the frost damaged sweet peas that did not survive, I’m not planning on resowing anything. When we get back from Norfolk, I’ll start sowing some more seeds for this year. 
Just off to my parents for family dinner this evening so will probably catch up with journals tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.