The Goose With The Golden Legs

I met Trigger the English bull terrier and his master outside Longlands Hide this afternoon. They were with another familiar-looking man who said to me, "Didn't you have an Alsatian?"  Cue floods of tears. The man spoke of what a lovely dog Ollie was and that when he met us on a little bridge she had sat on his feet. She used to do that to people she took to. I hope in time that I will be able to appreciated such comments without getting so upset.

I spent a bit of time in the hide chatting quietly to Trigger's master and telling some women all about Egyptian geese and then went for a walk towards Holyfield Farm where lots of Canada geese were grazing. I spotted a few in the distance that looked different. I crept along a hedgerow under cover and luckily was wearing my long wellies so was able to cross a ditch and get quite near to the birds. They were barnacle geese. I've seen these once before in February last year. I'm intrigued by the hybrid. I wonder where it got its orange legs from? Possibly a white fronted goose?  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.