Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Snow-less birds

Dark-eyed Juncos in the northeast are often referred to as "snow birds" because they show up in the our area in the fall from their northern breeding grounds.  Weirdly, this winter we have not had any measurable snow, which makes them snowless birds I guess.  How very strange it will be if we don't have a snowfall before this winter is over - neither Hubs nor I can remember a winter without snow here.

I started the day with a nice long FT chat with my parents, both of whom are looking well.  After we finished, I put Jax in his crate and went outside to spend some time in my hide.  I recently snapped off a couple of branches of the staghorn sumac that's abundant around here and have set them up near the feeder, allowing me to get this shot.  I love the bright red seed clusters of the sumac - very showy and the birds also love it.  And I think juncos look especially good on sumac.

I am definitely in a slump right now - just having a hard time mustering enthusiasm for anything.  I need to snap myself out of it.

Meanwhile, dark with hazel nuts today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.