Pardon the Tree...

..I apologize for the tree trunk, but it was just too darn cold to venture any further from the car to get a shot of the sunset without it! ! The wind was so strong I could hardly open the car door and when I did get out.. I wasn't going to stay out. I took a step in front of the car, snapped a couple of shots  - both pretty much identical - and dove right back into the car!

I was in awe of the two serious photographers who were out there braving the elements to get fabulous photos of geese flying across the setting sun...and noted how carefully they were avoiding tree trunks.. I watched them for a while and then rode home to do my best with what I had captured...one huge tree trunk...no brilliant ideas came forth, so unless I wanted to post the photos I had taken in the morning of two cute squirrels on my deck, this photo would have to do...It was a toss-up, but with colourful sunsets so rare these days, Tree Trunk in Sunset won the toss. 

Actually, on second thought, those two squirrels really were cute...and literate..They were carrying on quite a conversation with each other..softly mewling, not loud and sharp or chattering and clucking as in "Danger - Predator Approaching", but just as if they were having a normal morning chat over the tidbits I had fed them..

Neither my sister nor I had ever really listened to squirrels ...we had no idea that squirrels have a variety of "calls" with meanings! Who knew? Of course this led us down the Google rabbit hole in search of squirrel recordings..and we actually found some! What clever little creatures they are! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.