The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Altered States

Many years ago, I became infatuated with psychedelic patterns and colors. I adored Peter Max, The Beatles, Richard Avedon, and Pucci. Paisley prints, the brighter the better, Marimekko fabrics, and other "Love Child" art satisfied my young imagination.

I happened upon this candle the other day after a mishap with the plumbing for our heating system left part of our basement covered in rusty water. Found in a box marked "Mel's Office," this incredible candle emerged.

This was a gift from an old friend named Flo. I rarely have burned it, for it's very special to me. It is a piece of art that I cannot bring myself to "use up."

Flo understood how much "color" meant to me, and partnered up to paint a hallway bright aqua, a dining room a yellow and orange Mediterranean masterpiece, and a purple kitchen with silver swirls. She had the "color" bug as well, and from what I hear, is still painting up a storm in Chicago.

A simple candle...maybe. For me, it's a piece of history, and a reminder that there are some people that we can never forget, for they leave an indelible mark in our lives.

Another tattoo on my soul.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.