Ten Years* Of Blips. Ten Blot Test

I first heard of the Rorschach Inkblot Test in my teens. I was quite into psychology and human behaviour and it is mentioned in The Pelican History of Psychology, which I bought at that time and which is now gathering dust in my bookcase. Looking for a theme for ten, I’ve discovered that this test, originally developed as a diagnostic tool for schizophrenia and more recently used as a projective test of personality, uses ten white cards 18 x 24 cm. They each bear a perfectly symmetrical inkblot. Five black, two black and red and three multi-coloured.

I’ve had fun creating an inkblot to photograph. I got out my old bottle of Parker Quink permanent black ink. Sadly, it had dried up. I’ve seen online that it would cost £9.99 to replace it! Once I’d prised the bottle open, I put a little vodka in it. Unsurprisingly the consistency wasn’t right for blotting so I had to use my red Quink instead.

I wonder what blippers think this blot looks like and what their answers might say about them?

I wonder what it says about me that I have taken a photograph every single day for the past ten years, being very strict with myself that my blip post for the day must include a photo taken on that day as Joe Tree intended? (I’ve mentioned before that I had been doing this to please myself for some years previously.) Suffice it to say that we in our family think that some us are ‘on the spectrum.’ My literal brain sometimes lets me down. I’ve photographed my blot on a copy of The Concise Home Doctor which belonged to my parents-in-law, I’m guessing it’s about ten decades old. No mention of the spectrum in there of course.

I’m grateful to the team of people who keep the site going. Thank you blippers for taking the trouble to look at my pics, for your kind comments and for posting your photos and stories for me to enjoy. I’ve learnt such a lot from the entire process and am glad that I have kept a journal of the past decade. I love going out with my camera and then opening that box of treasures when I’m home.

*Ten Years is a song written by Paul Simon for Oprah Winfrey to celebrate a decade of her TV shows.
Ten years come and gone so fast
I might as well be dreaming
Sunny days have burned a path
Across another season
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.