These stood out on this mornings walk

Not the photo I had planned for today but they are rather beautiful.
Up 5.40am. Hubby has a cold so we have to suffer together. Argh! I read a few chapters of my current book 'The Missing Wife', then fed the birds, peanuts, mealworm, & breadcrumbs, & had breakfast. Poached blackcurrants from the plot, perfect topping for my yogurt. Love it!
Drove down CK, Indie was eager to go as always. Peanuts in my pocket, we set off. Came across a dead female Stonechat on the heath. :-( Very rarely see dead birds, fortunately. This could have been a buzzard kill. We walked down the old railway track to the bridge over the river Bovey. A pair of dippers below, the female I presume gather leaves, & moss from the rocks on the waters edge. Magic! Dropped the peanuts around the Badger sett, then headed home. A female Blackcap was singing her heart out, a male replying from a thicket nearby.
Coffee with Mum. I checked what she was having for her meal, she used to eat her main meal early evening but has recently eating it at lunchtime. I don't mind when as long as she is eating properly.
Back to Chudleigh, I dropped a bag of Mum's shoes in the Salvation Army bank, then nipped in Brainwave to check if they had any jigsaw puzzles. I found one I think Mum might enjoy doing, & bought a new belt for myself. £3.50 for the belt, £2.50 the jigsaw.
Back home for lunch. Homemade chicken liver, orange, & whisky pate, seeded toast, & olives. I love olives.
Next to the plot. I moved the well rotted leaf mould, spreading it on the root bed, covered the potato bed with well rotted manure, finishing with manuring the legumes bed. All the compost bags drying on the bean sticks. The surplus timber sacked for future use. 4.15pm. Time to head back.
Home to prep dinner before watching The Chase.
Hubby watched the women's footie on TV so I've been watching Rick Stein's Cornwall while treating myself to a piece of chocolate brownie with cream. Completely forgotten that I'd cut them up & frozen them. Yum!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.