The bedtime snack.

The day began well. I tidied a few things away and touched up paintwork on the stairs, things I've meant to do for ages. Cleaners coming is a good incentive.  Decided to tidy up a power point at the top of the stairs and blew it up instead which resulted in all the power points in the house being out of action.  Except for the kitchen thank goodness. Disaster. If I'd had fuse wire I could have fixed it but I had none and neither did the village shop.  How were the cleaners going to hoover the stairs ? Sorted that with an extension lead  and explained what had happened when they arrived. It got us off to a good start as we compared notes on all our various household catastrophes. Nothing other than the stairs involved electricity which was good. When they left I went off to an electricians and acquired the necessary fuse wire. Replacing the burnt out wire is something I've done before. It's straightforward. Not this time. My electrical system is so old things began to crumble and, in the end I had to give up.  Realised I hadn't a blip so went off to Birnie and caught the cygnets having their last feed of the day.  Stopped at the Pillars on the way back and bought wine and crisps, always my answer to a crisis.  No heating as my gas fire doesn't work without electricity so I unpacked the little fan heater I'd just put away as no longer needed and the extension lead came into play again.  Went to bed thinking I would never sleep but went out like a light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.