Waterfalls.

I woke up this morning to roaring wind and trees wildly tossing.  Remembered a metal stool still sitting at the top of the garden and hurried out to nearly get blown away.  Got the stool and put it upside down in a safe place with a heavy flowerpot on top.  Was this Storm Dudley already and, if so, how bad was it going to get.   Showered, dressed and by the time I came downstairs things were much calmer and thankfully stayed that way.  Had breakfast and cleaned the kitchen.  My groceries arrived and the driver had had an OK morning.  I checked the expanded  detail on the Met website  and found we were in the yellow zone.  Only the Fife coast seemed to be in the amber area.  This was a relief and things stayed calm and very wet all afternoon.  About three o'clock I put on my old Paramo gear and went round to the estate for a walk.  It's expensive stuff but lasts forever and keeps you dry no matter what.  Pottered up the Mill Burn which runs down Falkland House park and is full of little rills and waterfalls until it reaches the fish pond.  They were introduced as ornamental attractions.  Water is a feature of the Estate.  You are never far from the sound of it and there are many bridges.  The rain stopped while I was footering around which was good then began again as I returned to the car.  Came home just in time to photograph a rainbow between the houses across the road.  By the time I'd had tea and toast and a read Storm Dudley had arrived.  Gusts are not supposed to be more than 40mph so fingers crossed.  Hope all is well where you are.  Stay safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.