A late start as I read long into the night, drinking tea and eating amoretti biscuits to keep myself awake. As a result, when I got up, I was heavier than when I went to bed.  Nothing got done. The birds got fed.  Dudley had been a bit of an anti-climax. It was calm, no damage and the sun was shining.  Combined breakfast and lunch, booked next weeks grocery order  and reluctantly went to Glenrothes to sort out my mobile.  As usual it took a lifetime but was fairly pleasant.  The assistant wasn't busy and was efficient and chatty so it was much less of a bore than usual.  Afterwards I went off to the Pitcairn Centre where I used to walk in the past. Memories of a six mile walk there and back to East Lomond early on a snowy morning.  The snow was untouched and full of animal footprints.  Quite magical.  Today I plowtered round some muddy footpaths and wished I'd gone to the loo before leaving the Town Centre.
Came back to the car park and found a loo there and a  little wildlife pond surrounded by masses of butterbur.  It's an early wild flower which gets its name from its big leaves which were used in the past to wrap butter in.  The kind I usually see is a dusky pink.  This  was creamy yellow and I think can be invasive but it was lovely to see.  Passed a sign for Coul Den on the way home so must go there soon. I need fresh places to walk. I'm such a creature of habit.  No sign yet of the threatened snow.  Carol the Postie was lamenting that there had been none in this area this winter. It is amazing how localised it can be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.