Sunny Saturday

We did a quick trip to the Parnell Farmer’s Market this morning, then back home for coffee before MrMacD caught the bus into the city to go sailing on the Ted Ashby.  It was a beautiful day for being out on the water.

I did some household chores then went out for a walk.  While walking I made some phone calls and managed to touch base with two friends in Napier, much to my relief.  They’re both fine and their houses are fine.  I also got an update on some other friends from one of them, which was very helpful.  I texted another friend and received a reply - they’re OK as well - and managed to contact two other friends through Messenger - both of whom are OK and whose houses are also OK.  I was so relieved to be able to communicate with them all.  There are still other friends whom I haven’t heard from as yet, so I am worried about them.  Hopefully, I’ll manage to touch base with them in the next few days.

We watched the news tonight and there were more harrowing photos of the devastation in Hawke’s Bay, Gisborne and the East Cape.  It’s like a war zone down there and there are so many heartbreaking stories.

As I walked a slightly different route down to the waterfront I saw the two fig trees - one laden with ripe figs and one with unripe figs.  There was also a Yucca Gloriosa, which I don’t remember seeing before.  The other photos are, of course, of sun, sea and sand at Kohimarama Beach.

I think I’m reasonably up-to-date now.  Let’s hope I can keep it that way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.