Shout out

My day got off to an excellent start. We generally listen to Out of Doors on a Saturday morning and part of this ritual is trying to identify the mystery sound.  Thanks to a clue given by one of the presenters this morning I got it and I texted my answer in. I was chuffed when it was read out, along with a few others. I mentioned I was getting ready for Faskally Forest Park Run and so I duly headed out. 

There had been snow overnight with mist in the hills which gradually made its way down into town and to Loch Dunsmore where the Parkrun starts.  Today saw the 75th Parkrun at Faskally. It is a challenging course - essentially it is a lollipop shape and it starts with an uphill section, you then go round a loop which has another two uphill sections three times before heading back down to the finish, making it the 20th slowest in the UK.  However it is through lovely surroundings and everyone is very friendly.  

As ever I was powerwalking rather than running and I came in just outside my personal best which I was pleased about (and first in my age and sex category which I was also pleased about (although there were only two of us in that category !).  I then enjoyed a coffee and chat with others back at the golf club. A really nice start to the weekend. I will be back next week and will be slower as I have volunteered to be the tail walker - anything for the chance to wear a hi vis vest !

We are heading over to Birnam  this evening for a Winter Pick Me Up Concert featuring local musicians which should be fun. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.