Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

It's MY bunny....!

I failed in my task this morning to locate any hares, so eventually took myself off to Lynford Arboretum to try my luck with the hawfinches instead. 
I was aware from last year where they were normally seen so trotted down to the paddock to find a number of people with cameras and scopes, dotted along the fence-line. Thinking that this was a good sign I was really quite hopeful, but nobody had seen any hawfinches today and some had been there for nearly three hours. As you know, I have little patience for standing around waiting for things to appear, so walked slowly around the paddock. I was trying to focus on a marsh tit when this little girl came around the corner clutching a toy shouting defiantly "It's MY bunny!" I pointed my camera in her direction as she saw me, took a couple of frames and then smiled at her. She came over all shy and ran back to her parents and sister, tightly holding onto her bunny. I thought she looked quite sweet, and as I had not much else, she's my blip today. I eventually got a short look at a hawfinch through a couple's scope which was nice. I'd have never located it on my own as it was too far away and mixed in with a load of goldfinches and redwings. 

I'll try again with the hares later in the week when my husband is allowed out for a day on Monday or Tuesday. It's quite difficult to find them when you have to drive as well and stopping at random fields has not worked so far!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.