Sapper at Wittersham Road

My first turn at Wittersham Road signalbox for the half term timetable. Well supported, particularly the Cream Teas - the tables were packed and I saw bottles of wine too.

Apart from a delay on the last train we were pretty much on time. The box had several small faults which made for degraded working though there was always a workaround.

None of the train location indicators were working in the box so once the train had left the previous station I had no idea where it was until I spotted a wisp of steam as the train came around a bend or over the top of a gradient. No help to me but the engineers had fixed some of the problems by the time the last train had departed!

Thank you for all your great comments on yesterday’s journal. A tremendous relief all around and the chance to grab back some time for other things instead of battling the council

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.