The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The grass is greener

K contacted me a fortnight ago, after Facebook told her it was my birthday. She reckoned we hadn't met up for two years! I thought it was more like one, but only blip can tell us...we decided to go for a walk, and the weather obliged us with sunshine and pleasant temperatures.

Once again, for me, and the first time for her, we walked around the Prinknash Abbey estate, through the walked garden, up to the Tudor monastery and the monks'graveyard. I adore walking the estate in all its seasons and iterations. I even worked there for a while in the noughties.

After a coffee in the cafe/gift shop, we headed back to my house, where we grabbed a quick lunch and made plans to meet again next month. I did a lightning change, and K drove me to the rendezvous for the concert minibus. This afternoon's teatime concert was all American music (Bernstein, Copland, Glass, Gershwin). This time there were thirteen in our party: a record. Today's music isn't really my glass of soda, but most of the group loved it, and I had a bird's eye view of the pianist's hand from my position in the gallery. He played with great passion, a virtuoso.

After the gig, we went back to Stroud, where I was invited to have another cup of tea! Because it was Sunday, I said yes. Ended up walking home with two volumes of poetry, by Neruda and Yevtushensky.

Since then I've been working out on my ski machine(!) and sending out emails. In the best news I've heard all year, one of my acquaintances has agreed to take over organising transport for the Sunday concerts. Hurrah! I've delegated. She is so well trained that I won't have to tell her anything twice!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.