Plus ca change

In 1849, French writer Jean-Baptiste Alphonse Karr wrote, “plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose” or “the more things change, the more they stay the same.”  It's often used somewhat sarcastically but I like to interpret the phrase more benignly.  Twenty five years ago my friend Frank bounced baby Ruth on his knee, he and his wife owned the caravan next to my family's.  We worked together on the railway maybe thirty years ago.  I trained him to be a guard on the Talyllyn.  Circumstances changed and we lost touch until I moved here in 2019 soon discovering that he had done similar not long before.  He joined the railway staff a while after I did and today we worked together again after more than a quarter of a century.  I was training him again, this time in the cafe!   It wasn't supposed to happen, sickness saw me re-routed to run Abergynolwyn cafe where we had a fun time, hopefully to be repeated before too long.


Crocus vernus x tommasinanus.  An accidental hybrid of my own raising, a rather unusually marked form. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.