Ancestors

Since being away from home some this weekend, I was behind on household jobs. Once I weeded two flower beds, finished the routine cleaning and two loads of clothes, I was able to read a bit. Hubby hiked part of a state forest trail, took care of a few errands and visited my mother. My NY cousin was going through some of her Mom’s old photos and sent me a stack - part of them are displayed above. The man in the middle photo of the third row sitting in front of a tall bush holding a baby is my father and I’m the newborn. His younger sister is holding me in the second photo on the left side of the bottom row. I imagine these other folks are some of my ancestors. My cousin and I are related on both sides of the family since her mom/my mother’s sister, married my father’s first cousin. These folks were hard working tradesmen, farmers or watermen. Some served their country proudly in the military. They were devoted to their family and their Catholic faith. They also knew how to have fun playing music, dancing or enjoying a game of cards. From what I have heard, the women were expert gardeners, cooks and bakers. I guess I inherited some of their traits. Hubby took my mother the photos, the Pavarotti CD collection and her favorite pastry, a bear claw. We thought they might take her mind off the shingles pain. Can’t wait to learn who they were since folks died younger back then and I may not have ever met them. My mother lost most of her old photos when their winter home in Sarasota, FL flooded one summer. She will be delighted to have these memories. After his visit, hubby came home, ate a late lunch and is now enjoying a nap. I made great progress on the new novel I started today. Thanks for stopping by. Stay safe. “It is indeed a desirable thing to be well descended, but the glory belongs to our ancestors.” - Plutarch

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.