Spring

Round about last March, when she left her last job, Secondborn was given a rose lily with four-stems. She was horrified and handed it over to me. Two stems survived last summer's sweltering heatwave in my airless attic. By the end of September another stem had died but one of the earlier ones was reincarnating. By the end of October the whole thing was dead.

For weeks and weeks the pot has been on my kitchen floor unloved and unwatered. And now this. I've soaked it and put it back near the window.

The nearest stem is definitely a rose lily. I suspect the other two may be the offspring of the peace lily in the pot behind. I cannot explain why one sort of lily seems to want to grow towards the light while the other wants to grow away from it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.