An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Pink for Gill...

BACKBLIP


It was a very early rise.  

Dropped Fiona off at Stirling Train Station at 7.20am and picked our friend LJ up from her flat at 7.30am.  We left so early as we were convinced we would get held up in traffic at Dunblane roundabout, Stirling, Cumbernauld and possibly the M73, but the roads were virtually empty and we were in the carpark at Daldowie Crematorium at 9.05 with the funeral not due to start till 10am.  

We weren't the only one there early as I think maybe others had been worried about traffic.  Thankfully there was a heated waiting room with loos!

As we waited more people from our old work gang arrived.  It was so lovely to see them and catch up, just a shame it was in such sad circumstances.

Service at the crematorium was lovely.  Gill was life time member of her local church and the Minister had known her for over 20 years.  He spoke of her so warmly and with great affection.

After the crematorium service there was a memorial service at the church, which we also attended.  There wasn't a seat left in the church.  Gill was fully immersed in her community, always willing to lend a helping hand wherever it was needed.  She was known and loved by everyone.  

The Minister delivered a wonderful memorial to her.  Gill had no children of her own and her goddaughter read out a poem she'd written for her.  Oh heavens!  That had me in bits!  So heartfelt.  Gill had chosen the hymns herself but I had no voice to sing them.  

Her dad and sister issued an invitation to the local golf club after the service, which gave us a chance to reminisce and share our disbelief that she is gone.  I've included a shot of her that I took at a mutual friend's 75th birthday party in 2017.  I wanted her to be included in my journal.  She's been mentioned many times but don't think I've included a photo. 

We got home just after 3pm and I planned to crochet for the rest of the afternoon.  I got myself set up and in the blink of an eye I was asleep!  I slept for three hours solid, bolt upright in my armchair, crochet hook in hand.  Think the emotion of the week and the very early rise wiped me out. 

Gill loved all things pink so I painted these flowers for the sympathy card I sent to her dad and sister. 


Rest in Peace Gill.  You will be missed.  

  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.