An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Another painting!

BACKBLIP


Ordered some hot press (HP) watercolour paper last week and it arrived the  other day.  This morning was my first chance to try it out.  I normally paint on cold pressed paper (NOT as in not HP :-) but want to try painting some abstracts on the HP paper using acrylic inks.  This wee painting was just to check the absorbency and drying time of the paper.  Not sure when I will find the time to have a proper play with it, but I am looking forward to it.

The afternoon was spent catching up with the crocheting I meant to do yesterday.  Working on the border of my latest blanket and I am happy to say it's crocheting up quite quickly.  

Later on I turned my attention to making the toffee apple crumble for tomorrow night's dinner with LeeAnne and Gail.  The recipe states dark brown sugar but I've always made it with light brown sugar.  This time I followed the recipe and was a bit alarmed at how dark the caramel looked!  It tasked good though, and had a more toffee flavour than caramel and I suppose that's the point.  

Looked out their Christmas gifts as this is the first chance we've had to all get together after at least three failed attempts over the festive period!  

Looking forward to seeing them both.  Just what I need after an emotional week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.