Reflections

on the river Wensum (I think) going through Norwich :)

After being woken at 5..30am by what seemed like elephant feet going back and forth from the room above, I got up early and was at breakfast by 8am.   Then I packed up.

I had quite a bit of spare time, so I wandered back to the Cathedral and took some more photos.  

It was lovely to see the river, so still and so calm.  In fact the city seemed much quieter than yesterday.

After my walk I went back to the hotel, picked up my luggage and got a taxi to the station.  The train journey was much better than coming as it went straight through from Norwich to London without needing to change.

Then I got on the Elizabeth LIne train, and the journey was fraught with stop, start due to 'human trespassers' on the line, who were cleared by police, and then somehow got back on the line again :(

When we got to Maidenhead we were told to get out of the train, and for some several minutes waited on the platform, with no-one to tell us what to do :(

Some 30 minutes later we were on another Elizabeth line train, which got as far as Twyford..  We were told we'd have to get off again and wait, but suddenly the train began to move with us still on it!  It wasn't funny haha, but stupid funny!

Anyway, we got so far along the line and suddenly came to halt again!

The train driver announced that we were going to have to go back to Twyford and disembark as the trespassers were on the line again :(

I gave up - I knew it wasn't too far from Woodley.  I went out into the car park, and discovered a couple of taxis - just local ones, but one of them got me home for pretty much the same cost that it would cost to come by taxi from Reading to home.  The drawback was I had to pay cash, but luckily I had enough cash on me to do that - goes to show its worth carrying a little cash around.

So after all the carry on - and the big gap between train and platform causing me issues for my poorly knees - I was rather glad to get home :)

Tonight's dinner will not be anything exciting, in fact I'm not sure I'm going to eat anything much!

(and Charlie seems happy to see me) :)

Backblips start here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.