ROBOT

A fabulous day today.  I tried sending this direct from my phone but it kept telling that the pixels were too small - eh!!!!!!  Anyway I saved it to Facebook and then now I'm back home I've managed to upload it!!!!

The day started well.  The train was on time and I had pleasant journey.  It got busy from Carlisle with quite a lot of families getting on, but there was plenty of room for everyone.

On arrival we went straight to the Museum of Scotland and had coffee (although I'd also had some on the train).

We then headed for the 3rd floor "The Wonderful Worlds of Doctor Who".  I'd book a time slot for 11:45 to allow time in case the train was delayed.  We were there however just after 11.00 am, so I asked at the ticket stall and they said no problem at all.  The young man said lucky you've come this week it's lovely and quiet last week was heaving.  Phew I thought.  Well that didn't last long 'cos just after we got there the world and his wife arrived.  Still no both, once you're in you can take as long as  you like and take as many photos as you want to as long as you don't use a flash.   I took loads of photos so tomorrow will be spent sorting them out. 

The exhibiton was looking at the science, as well as science fiction. of Doctor Who.  I had seen all of the exhibits before but some, including this one not for many years.  They also had a replica console of William Hartnell's time in the TARDIS so that is what G really wanted to see.  Strange to think that he wasn't even born when then the first episode aired way back in 1963!!!

Anyway we spent a good couple of hours in there.  But boy was it very warm.  I had put my coat round my waist in the end and I was still too hot.  

On the way out we discovered that they left luggage type lockers big enough to take coats and bags and we could have used them - will know for any future events.

After that we popped over the road so I could see Greyfriar's Bobby and took a couple of photos.  Then we went to go round the kirk - flipping typical it was shut today.  So what to do next!!!  We decided to go to St Giles Cathedral.   G was now having one of his FND (functional neurological disorders) so I managed to get him a seat pretty quick.  The lady sat next to him noticed that he was suffering and I was trying to look out for him so she very kindly left her seat for me sit next to him - that was so kind of her.

After he'd settled I left him sitting whilst I walked around the cathedral to take photos and find out a few things - including seeing the plaque for Robert Louis Stephenson.

We still had plenty of time before our table was booked at the Waldorf Astoria for a late lunch.  As G lives just round the corner from St Giles we popped over to this place for rest for 30 minutes then got a taxi to the Waldorf - arriving 30 minutes early.  

I spent a minute thinkiing my lovely friend CumbriaLass who was having walk done at the dentists about this time so I sent her some postive vibes over the airwaves.

It was just as well we did as we were in there for ages having a great time.  On arrival we were greeted by a doorman in full livery with tartan trews who took us through Peacock Alley (the restaurant). The service was excellent and we were looked after by a really lovely young lady and seved by two very nice waiters.  There was gentle classical music playing the background and it was just busy enough to be interesting.

We just soup and a wrap - well I say just, both were delicious but enormous!!!!

Anyway we left there about 4.10, the idea had been to visit the church across the road where Agatha Christie was married and then walk thorugh the gardens.  However G can't walk very fast so we hailed a taxi.  Just as well we did as it was further than we first thought.

Arrived at the station in plenty of time, the train was in so G just waited until it left then he phoned  Hubby to let him know I was on my way home.

Although the train left on time it ended up arriving at Oxenholme about 10 minutes late simply because they waited in Carlisle for passegers from a train from Glasgow which had been delayed.  I didn't know they still did that!!!   Anyway 10 minutes is nothing.

I will put some collages in extras once I've edited all the photos so please bear with me.

I hope you are all OK.  So sorry rabbiting on but it was such a lovely day

Do take care, stay safe and I will see you all tomorow,

Oh by the way for those that don't know this is ROBOT, from the story called ROBOT introducing Tom Baker as the 4th Doctor - his first story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.