Before the Snow...

Sailor's warning? Not that there were any sailors out on the water this morning...but if there were, they should have taken notice...

It was cold...and the wind was viciously cold..directly from the east blowing right in my face and freezing my ungloved fingers whilst I was trying to get sunrise photos! 

And then shortly after, the snow came...but even worse, so did the forecast of a huge ice storm for tomorrow...along with a warning to get in some supplies today as we will not want to be driving about in search of a litre of milk tomorrow! And oh yes, there may also  be some power outages...

Now, how much attention should one pay to such forecasts? So often they do not materialize..but just in case, I have canceled plans to go to the movies tomorrow night and will be heading out in the morning to stock up on essentials -  like biscotti and coffee cream. 

But, back to the sunrise..It was stunning....and it just kept getting better and better...I retreated to my car a couple of times to warm up and then ran back out for another look.. did not want to miss the peak of colour...It had been a while since I have enjoyed a good sunrise....and I was not going to miss it! 

I see that I need to add some variety to my sunrise photos..I have posted this scene SO many times..headland to the left, reflections on the beach, waves rolling in and for variety, sometimes a silhouetted tree or person?.....However the sun just keeps rising in the east...drat.That is SO limiting! When one faces east, that is what one sees! The answer, obviously, is to find a different locale..but geez..over the lake is SO lovely... -big open sky, a vast expanse of water..a wonderfully blank canvas for a light show! Still, I will make a point of trying some where different..one of these days....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.