Not a Sunrise

..because there wasn't one.. Well of course the sun rose, but it didn't make a big thing of it.. However, the day turned out to be pretty nice..some sunshine and blue skies...and by mid-morning, worthy of a quick trip to the lake.

Today was Family Day - which is a provincial statutory holiday in Ontario..not a national federal holiday, but celebrated in most provinces, often by a different name eg: Louis Riel Day, Heritage Day, Islander Day etc. Anyway, I usually avoid local conservation areas and popular spots on weekends or holidays because of the crowds..but I did want to get out in the sunshine for a bit, and the lake was the easiest destination... 

I was not surprised to find the parking lots full but was surprised to see how few people were actually out of their cars! The sun was not enough to get them out into the cold I guess..so photo-ops of an empty beach  were the offerings of the day. 

Back home, the highlight, other than finishing my current book, was meeting my new neighbours-to-be! The young couple who have just bought the house next door celebrated Family Day by bringing their family to see their new house..well at least the yard...and I had a chance to say hello. They are so young..(but then, at my age, everyone seems so young) so friendly, and so happy..absolutely bubbling over with enthusiasm over their new house. I was told earlier that the young woman is a speech therapist and the young man is an emergency nurse..(I hope that is right as I intend to put him on Speed-dial!) I do hope they will like the neighbourhood and feel at home here.

So, for me, Family Day was pretty quiet...my family are either lounging in the sun in the Caribbean or living far enough away to discourage weekend visits..except for my brother.. he and I celebrated "family" yesterday...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.