Mum's Clog

I called in to see Auntie Betty today.  She begins her six weeks of radiotherapy on Friday and is in remarkably good spirits.  On her side table, in pride of place, was one of my Mum's clogs from when she was a child.    My Grandad had them made, with horseshoe shaped cleats, to encourage her to walk as she was quite a sickly child by all accounts.  He thought she would like the noise the clogs made on the pavements.  He was right.  I asked Betty where the other clog was and it seems Great Aunt Ada may have taken it in the long ago past.  The only thing I recall about Great Aunt Ada was her aspidistras in the front room window.

A blipper recently made the comment that it is important to remember our parents as they were when younger, certainly before we came along.  Imagining Mum wearing these as she grew in to her walking is special.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.