Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Yellow

Had a short hike today at the Rocky Branch trail with my friend Risee.  We had not seen each other since October...way too long!   We went looking for early spring wildflowers along a creek walk but there was nothing except this Carolina Jessamine hanging in the trees.   I was walking off the trail along the creek edge looking for any little tiny flowers or mushrooms when I spied a gnome home!   It is in the extras. 

However, since Risee was not familiar with the rural area where we were hiking she asked if there were any old barns or buildings around so I drove down a road nearby but there was really nothing.  I took a different route back toward home and we were astounded to see thousand of daffodils growing in among the pine trees.   There were no houses so I pulled over and we got out to take photos.   It was so beautiful.   We think there was probably a house there many years ago because of the way the land looked.   A collage in the extras but it does not show the depth of how far back in the pines the flowers were growing.  The white flowering bush growing with the daffodils is bridal wreath (I think.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.