Living my dream

By Mima

Ready to Show

I knew today was going to be crazy busy. And so it has turned out.

It is the day before the judging at the A&P Show, which means it’s the day of picking, selecting, washing and putting together the best vegetables for the classes.

The star of my Show of course is the ‘Display of edibles in a basket’. I love designing it and this year I have been inspired by a poster from the WW2 British campaign “Dig for Victory”. I’ve printed off a postcard sized copy of the poster and attached it to the (non-smelly) trug. There is no guarantee that the judges will make the connection, but I do hope so.

I’m entering 14 other classes as well: individual vegetables, and some preserves.

To select the best produce I had to pick and dig up a huge amount of stuff and the rejects fill three buckets in the pantry. I’ll cook them into various chutneys, soups, casseroles and bakes over the next few days. The freezer and cool store will benefit.

Bean had a walk, but otherwise it was a boring day for her watching me beetling around muttering to myself. She supervised from under her blanket.

We’ll be off into town at sparrowfart tomorrow to deliver the entries to the Showgrounds. Judging starts at 10am. I find out on Saturday morning if I’ve impressed the judges.

The spirit of my wonderful Dad has been with me all day. He loved showing his veggies at the Kirkcudbright Show each year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.