Living my dream

By Mima

Savouring the view from Kakanui

Thank you so much for all the comments on my Show basket yesterday. The extra is a photo of how it actually ended up, following some additions and tweaks at sparrow-fart this morning.

All my entries were duly delivered to the Showgrounds before 9am and I had a good look at some of the other exhibits - and long chats with other exhibitors which is always a treat.

If the judges are keeping up with the trends in Horticultural Shows in the UK, they will appreciate the straight lines and trios of fruit and veg in my basket. If however they prefer a more random display, there are a couple of other baskets which will give me a real run for my money. 

It is in their lap now. I will learn their decisions tomorrow afternoon when I venture into town again.

Having dropped off the entries I was suddenly aimless, so Bean and I went to Kakanui for a lovely long walk dawdle around the Point. The sun was shining, the views wonderful, the sea on the way in, and the path empty of anybody else. 

After a fairly busy week I enjoyed the sense of being in no rush and following no list. 

Bean had her nose stuck to the ground almost the entire time: there are plenty of other dogs in Kakanui, as well as rabbits, seals and birds galore. She has been dozing since we got home. 

I will start to think about what to create with the four buckets of Show-reject veg tomorrow. The freezers get filled to bursting with Mima's Showstopper Ready Meals at this time of year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.