Proud Parent

"To everything (Turn, Turn, Turn)
There is a season (Turn, Turn, Turn)
And a time to every purpose under Heaven.
A time to be born, a time to die,
A time to plant, a time to reap,
A time to kill, a time to heal,
A time to laugh, a time to weep.
To everything (Turn, Turn, Turn)
There is a season (Turn, Turn, Turn)
And a time to every purpose under Heaven."
Pete Seeger, Turn! Turn! Turn!


It's looking like "a time to be born" out there, as I've discovered bird nests in several locations around the yard. A pair of robins have been nesting in the rhododendron bushes near our deck, and they've been true partners at the task, taking turns watching over the nest and feeding the babies big, fat worms from the yard.

Welcome to the newest residents of my little acre! I spotted at least two baby birds in this nest, although only one of them is visible in this photo. I am not sure if the big bird is the mother or the father - I guess I think it may be the mother. I do see the family resemblance, I must admit, especially in the face. And what a lovely little family they make . . .

The soundtrack: The Byrds, with Turn! Turn! Turn!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.