I had a phone call at breakfast asking me if it was ok to come and do the external part of switching my broadband over to fibre? Yes of course, I've had three cancelled appointments for the internal part of the job, all cancelled because the external part hadn't been done. The fourth appointment is on Wednesday so perhaps it'll get kept now... maybe.

Apparently permission to dig up the pavement part of the job hadn't yet been granted so they could only do the section over my garden, but a bit is better than nothing. So they were preparing to dig a trench through my garden in the front and I'd moved a couple of plants out of the way of their big feet, when suddenly one of them noticed that my neighbours already had fibre to their house. If the neighbours were agreeable they could put mine through the same ducting, thereby negating the need to dig up the pavement and also the garden. But first they had to check with their boss.

The boss said ok, and my neighbours said ok (many thanks to them), so I replanted the two plants I'd dug up and they got on with the job.

I tried not to look at where their feet were going, because the plant that I should have moved (by the lump hammer in the photo) saw the soles of their boots more than it should have. Oh well fingers crossed it'll survive... there's only one small shoot left but nature's wonderful!

The carpet fitter turned up at that point, although he wasn't long because all he'd got to do was fit to, and into, the new wardrobes. I could then finish putting everything away into them.

The rest of the afternoon was spent on admin, my own and the mountaineering club's. I'm glad it's done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.