Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A grey day

The morning started sunny but it soon turned grey and cloudy. I started packing for my trip to Norway as there is so much to think about and pack. The clothes have to be the correct technical gear to keep me warm, the right boots, spikes, gloves, hats etc - and that only takes half the suitcase as the other half is all the food and snacks, hand warmers, etc. Due to my dietary intolerances I always have to pack my own food in case the hotel does not provide something suitable - I usually take it and bring it back again unopened but I rather take it in case I struggle with meals. Suppers are fine, it's breakfast where they serve bread and cheese that's a problem- so I take GF muesli, and then I also take GF bread to make a sandwich for lunch as the type of kiosks where the others grab lunch usually doesn't cater for my dietary needs. I also found some oat milk Nescafé sachets to take as the vending machines that serve coffee have regular milk. Being in remote places you are not likely to find a café on every corner! Plus many nut bars and snack bars as going out at around 5.30am in the morning and only getting back for breakfast by 9am you need something to keep going, especially if it is -10C. (it sounds awful doesn't it?) You can see why I need to pack a few days in advance to ensure I have everything! The camera bag is already packed and I am taking minimum amount of lenses as it gets too heavy to carry around all day.

I thought I would see many aurora shots on blip but I haven't, the cloud scuppered people's chances last night. As much as I would like to see the aurora I don't like the idea of going out at around 9pm and waiting in the cold for a few hours to see it, so when I am in Norway I am not sure if I will do that. 

The roofer finished what he set out to do today, but as expected, he discovered many other areas of shoddy workmanship that needs attention to prevent other leaks. He videoed it for me and showed me what the roof looks like, there big gaps between the slate tiles, poor coping of the brickwork, it is quite unbelievable. He will have to sort that too, its like an never ending problem.

I had another sports massage today, my shoulder is still not right but I can now turn my head a little easier with more flexibility in my neck. I know I have often photographed these trees but I passed by them on the way to have the massage so that is my image for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.