Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Crocuses from my garden

It was frosty and very cold this morning, I did not expect that. I also forgot that the roofer was doing a section of the roof at the back of the house today and when I was standing naked in my bathroom about to jump in the shower, I saw him outside my bathroom window - oops, I am sure that unsettled his breakfast!   

I had a busy morning doing laundry and preparing my final version of my camera club committee minutes and then sent them out. I also had a few chores to do this morning, I had to go to the post office to return a parcel and then on to the chemist. My second numpty moment of the day happened when I walked into the chemist and suddenly heard some awful music playing very loudly - I was still wondering why they would play such music in a pharmacy, and the poor staff member on the phone was struggling to hear - when I realised it was coming from my phone in my pocket, it had pocket dialled on to Apple music and was playing some Super Bowl interval music that was not on any of my playlists! I finally realised where the music was coming from and turned it off and apologised!

After my walk with Xena I went to get groceries. Our local Waitrose store is particularly bad when there are supply chain issues, and today their vegetable racks were almost empty. I know that the UK is suffering a shortage of tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers, salad ....due to bad weather in Spain and Morocco, but the rest of Europe does not seem to be having this problem. I had to change what I was planning on cooking this week as all the ingredients I needed were unavailable. Later, I spoke to Gavin at work and he went to the local Waitrose near his office in London and found peppers, tomatoes, cucumbers...I think it is a pathetic excuse for mismanaging supplies, particularly as they say the shortages will continue until May. 

Last night it seems the astral storms were at their best and the aurora borealis was seen over much of the UK,  from Scotland all the way down to Norfolk and as far south as Cornwall. I saw some photos taken in Brancaster Staithe - where we were on the weekend - last night and they were incredible. Now why am I bothering to go to the arctic circle on Friday....!

Tonight it's a critique evening at camera club. We used to have too many photo competitions every year, so last year the committee decided to rather have some critique evenings in place of competitions, where we get a top judge to critique the image in a constructive way, without scoring it. It should be interesting and useful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.