A Day In The Life

By Irish59

My Muse

Patient & Forgiving, Supportive & Kind,
Always my Muse;
My Muse sits near, sometimes Snores; Ducky’s my Muse;
Furry and Feline, Quack-Quack!

Normally Ducky curls up in a chair next to me while I practice the ukelele, but today he quietly sat on a table next to my laptop. Mostly his head stayed bowed with eyes closed, as if in a trance, but occasionally his head popped up to look out the window at the falling snow or catch birds flying by • I know he likes me, but I think the uke draws him near. You might be thinking he likes Bert, and I agree he does, but he remains by my side even on those days I practice without Bert • Ducky, my inspiration, and steadfast companion, my muse • It’s been snowing all day and is to continue through the night. The feeders have been nonstop busy with a flock of 20 or more starlings gobbling up all of the mealworms • Grrrrrr • They’re too expensive to quickly fill up the feeder again because they’ll only return when I do. So I’ll wait, probably until tomorrow, but in the meantime the bluebirds will go without…but there is suet! • The woes of backyard bird feeding • Time to make soup, it’s what’s for dinner • I hope you’ve enjoyed some Joy Snacks today :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.