A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Dark Shadows

I was out shoveling the bit of snow that fell late yesterday and couldn’t help but notice all of the shadows stretching across our white winter landscape, including my own • A Woman And Her Shovel, with a touch of BeCasso • Shadows are versatile, they can be both funny and scary, even artistic, but they can also invoke memories, especially from our childhood • My most memorable shadow is actually a TV Show “Dark Shadows” which ran 1966-1971. It’s described as an “American Gothic Soap Opera” • I remember it was on daily at 4pm and I first learned of it from my bus driver. The bus was actually a station wagon, and the driver’s name was Dot. She smoked like a chimney and drove me to and from school Grades 1-5. We were both fanatical Boston Red Sox fans and listened to their afternoon spring games on the radio on the ride home • On occasion she stopped by her house for a few minutes and would invite me in and turn on the TV. That’s when I learned all about the wealthy Collins family who lived in a far away place called Collinsport, Maine • The visuals were scary, the music was frightening and the characters were very strange. There were ghosts, werewolves, monsters and witches; secret rooms, time travel, even a vampire named Barnabus Collins • What more could a kid ask for? • Beware, you never know what might be lurking around that dark corner, or who is casting that long dark shadow over your shoulder…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.