Exit

I think today was quiet at work because I got a bit distracted trying to understand GitHub. I decided that the easiest way to get a bit of a handle on it would be using their Pages feature which allows me to create files in a ‘repository’ and then make them public. Then, I thought, I’d understand a bit more about the structure of Github. Github only really handles static pages so I could have knocked out some basic HTML files and been done with it. But, as part of the process I also decided that I wanted my pages created using Markdown rather than HTML so I went down the rabbit hole of trying to use the GitHub implementation of Jekyll , a static site generator. I spent just enough time to some words published. I am hoping the effort will be helpful but I don’t think I am ever going to use it for anything. 

Just before 2pm PY headed out the door for his train to Portsmouth so he can be at the Island flat tomorrow to get a quote for some electrical work. Seems like he made it quite easily as I got a notification from the router connected to the internet in the flat that somebody had connected and so I spoke to him via the security camera we have installed. All very technology-centric. 

As I was getting to leave the house for my Tai Chi class I discovered that the back door was unlocked. I think we must have left it that way since the boiler was serviced on Monday. We opened it just in case the engineer needed to go outside and test the vent. Turns out he didn’t but it should have been locked. We’re usually very good at it. 

When I got back I called Mum and Dad and then checked-in that PY had arrived on the Island OK and had some left-overs of a aubergine dish we made last week. I watched “Visible: out on television” - an Apple TV series about LGBTQ+ representation on  television but found it very American-centric and I didn’t know a good number of the people who were talking about heir experiences. I suspect the later episodes will feature people I know better so I may stick with it.

I read a review of Wreckage, which we saw a few weeks ago. Attitude said,

"The Turbine Theatre offers an intimate setting. A bare stage is covered in the image of cracked glass while a screen set against the back wall shows projections of settings and dates for when action is taking place. Even so, it isn’t always clear where and when we are at times making the play hard to follow."

And I can’t disagree more that it was in any way confusing and the 3 out of 5 score does not reflect what we saw: I would have rated it 5. Shame its run comes to an end this weekend. I’d go again!

Today’s picture is of the exit from the station at Raynes Park. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.