Customers

To the office where the subject of database entities was discussed.  In my world, the relationship between Agency, Advertiser and Brand is really important so we were brainstorming some ideas. I have a great feeling of deja vu as I did all of this for my last job last summer.  I wish I could just pick that up and reuse it but the use case is slightly different.  I found myself using the word ‘entity’ a lot when other people were not so I had to have a quick sense check that I was using it correctly.  So, like yesterday, I thought I would ask one of those AI bots to explain it to me.  Turns out, I am using it correctly (which is a relief) and my belief that this is fundamental to our product has been validated.

In a database, an entity is a person, place, thing, event, or concept that can be uniquely identified and described using data. An entity can be anything from a customer, a product, a sale, to a location, and it is typically represented as a table in a relational database. An entity is defined by its attributes, which are the specific pieces of information that describe the entity, such as a customer's name, address, and phone number. In other words, an entity is a fundamental building block of a database and forms the basis of data storage and retrieval.

It’s such a shame we are having to retrofit this into our product.  This should have been done at the beginning.  I have even more respect for James, my last boss, given how he made JJ and me do this last year and it seemed so unnecessary at the time.  I wish somebody had done that here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.