Folded

My step-count just about passed 10,000 today and I was pretty impressed with myself because I had spent most of the day sat in traffic and I didn’t really enjoy it. 

We woke to a lovey bacon and egg breakfast that Dad cooked. PY used up some of the avocados to go with it. And then we spent a couple of hours chatting until, around noon, we started packing up the rental mini. I managed to get CarPlay working immediately which was good and, after packing and some goodbyes, we set off. 

I am not sure why I was so bothered about connecting the phone’s navigation to the car because, not two minutes after leaving mum and dad’s house, I ignored the directions on the maps app and ended up stuck in a traffic jam caused by a crash on the way to the A5. That was already another 11 minutes on the journey and we hadn’t gone two miles but it also set the tone for the rest of the journey.

Once on the A5/M54 it was busy buy moving reasonably well until hit a crawl on the M6. This time I followed the map and took the suggested route via the M5 - which is longer but the machine assured us it was quicker - instead of our usual route.  This meant a bit of unfamiliar M42. Generally the traffic was slow but once of the M6 we were moving.  We stopped at Warwick Services for coffee and to eat the turkey sandwiches that mum had made before attempting to fill up on petrol. The pumps we pulled up at were out of service and there didn’t seem an easy was to go around again so I abandoned the idea and carried on.  I thought about stopping but, in the end, carried on straight through. By the time we had reached the M25 the rain had arrived and I really just wanted to get home. So I motored on, stopping finally to get the required half a tank of petrol into the car, at the Shell around the corner. I think this meant I didn’t overfill the car ahead of its return. I think that was probably the most successful part of a long day travelling.

Later, we heard that Dad went and collected his umbrella from the Loopy Shrew where he had left it.

I folded the Christmas jumper away for another year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.