Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Shining lovely

When I woke up this morning the sun was shining lovely, as they say.  It didn't last much past 9am but by that time I'd already seen this beautiful creature lying in the grass and reeds on the other side of the river.  I was once told by a wicked old poacher that the cud-chewing rest they take during the day is called 'couching down'.  Do any of you know that expression?  I've been watching this young male intermittantly for a while.  His antlers (still in velvet) are beginning to appear impressive and he looks very strong and male round his face and neck, but when he got up for a scratch he still looked rather small ;)

The rest of the day has been much duller weatherwise.  I spent it being domestic and going into town to treat myself to a book-buying session.  I came away with two, but because I forgot to take my specs - doh - I stayed on the safe side.  I am now deeply absorbed by Wolf Hall.

Okay, that's me.  Hope you guys had or are having a good Friday and that the weekend treats you well  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.