So Long, Farewell

A screenshot of the final seconds of Ken Bruce’s final Radio 2 show. Fittingly, he bowed out with “The End” by The Beatles - “and, in the end, the love you take is equal to the love you make”.
He has presented the mid morning show for almost half my life, though it was only after I became self employed in 2010 that I was able to tune in regularly. I made a point of listening all the way through today - ordinarily I would only tune in at the start of Popmaster. I enjoyed challenging myself answering the questions each day and though I did score the maximum 39 points on a couple of occasions over the years, I never had the confidence to apply to be a contestant.
Sadly, I will not be able to follow Ken to his new commercial station as we live too far North to receive it, other than via the internet - not very convenient when you’re in the car! And I won’t be listening to his replacement on Radio 2 either - I find Vernon Kay quite annoying. I’m not sure what the station controllers are trying to do by getting rid of the older presenters, but I think they’ll also be losing a lot of listeners.
As a final thought - when Ken started, I would have been listening to a dodgy MW broadcast on a bulky transistor radio. Today I listened to a crystal clear digital signal on a mobile phone that I also used to take the picture and to upload this blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.