'Twas a Dark and Stormy...

...Windy and Snowy Night with some thunder and lightning thrown in for good measure! 

We had plenty of warning that a storm was coming ...and plenty of requests to not go on the roads...but as I live only a couple of blocks away from the Station Gallery where my Friday Night Pen and Ink course takes place, I decided to go anyway. It was our last class...and besides, I had actually done my homework ( extra removed) and I wanted a pat on the back for that! 

Well, the smart ones stayed home and it was just me and the teacher! I did get my pat on the back, but we decided to not have a class but instead, add on another class next week to make up for this one. So, rather than sketch and paint, we spent the two hours chatting about everything and anything...our travels, life's medical challenges and finally,  the sadness and grief we encounter upon losing a loved one. Not where I expected the chat to lead, but it is the focus of his life right now and has been for the 3 years since his wife died...At the moment, he is preparing himself to return to their homeland of Ireland to spread her ashes as he had promised her he would and it is really an emotional time for him. It was not the art class I had envisioned,, but it is one I will remember more than what sketch I did... 

When I left the gallery to come home, it was a shocker! The storm had begun and what a wild scene it was! 70km winds blasting snow every which way - a white-out! I am so glad my classmates stayed home! They would have had some hazardous driving ahead of them if they had come. 

Later, in the evening as the storm raged, I noted that my friend and neighbour Elaine - of 'sunrise-spotting" fame - was out there  walking her dog as usual..yikes! I tried to get a picture of that but the best I could do with blowing snow and darkness was today's blip...It does not do her bravery justice! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.