A Quilt For March....

A new month, so this week, it was time to change the quilt hanging in the living room...and yes, it's another red one! One can never have too many...This one was the solution to a problem..well, not really a problem - but an unexpected windfall.

Years ago, for my birthday, my friend Mary sent me a Kaffe Fassett jelly roll of his red quilting fabrics.... What a treat! I couldn't wait to make yet another red quilt ...

The strips in those rolls are 2.5 inches wide, so I went ahead and planned a quilt pattern based on that. I even started cutting out some of the other pieces that would line up with these strips. And then, alas, I found that the strips were not a consistent 2.5 inches but sometimes a bit less, and sometimes a lot less! Some strips even varied in width along their own length!  Yikes! Disaster! 

I was SO disappointed that I wrote an email to the Westminster Fabric address on the label to tell them of this unexpected finding...and surprise! I got an answer! They said that they would investigate what had happened and would get back to me..yeah sure....but they did! They had found out why it had happened and had corrected the problem and for my trouble, had sent me 6 - yes SIX - red jelly rolls! 

So, what do to with SIX jelly rolls??  The obvious solution was a strippy quilt - throw in some of my own reds from the scrap bag and voilà - another red quilt! I still have two rolls left - waiting to be the right gift for the right person! 

Sometimes bad things that happen have a good outcome...

My apologies once again as I am falling even further behind on Blip..And alas, no catching up again today - having a bad eye day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.