Almost ...

... the last one.  Crocus etruscus, endemic to Tuscany where it has a restricted range and near threatened status.  It is securely in cultivation with a couple of clones propagated for sale in the horticultural trade.

The crocus season here is drawing to a close but the cold weather, forecast to continue for a week or two, is helping the last few to hold on well past St David's Day.   The Welsh Daffodils did make a show on the first of the month but they too are moving slowly.   I may not embrace the cold wholeheartedly(!) but it is much kinder to the early flowers than very mild weather which sends them over much more quickly.

Yesterday's siesta proved especially fortuitous as while we were at the open mic night, Katie was unwell and a trip to hospital for some help and emergency medication was needed.  Rather than see her wait hours in pain for an ambulance, we popped her in my car and off to Aberystwyth she and I went.   I did have a snooze while I waited but it was a long night, I had taken a book to keep me occupied and managed to read it from cover to cover!   We were both back in our own homes by 6am, the early morning birdsong ringing in our ears.   Nice to help Katie out, she does a lot for me, looking after Meg while I'm at work.

Yesterday I had booked Jamie's old power attachment in for a tyre and inner change at the excellent, independent Tywyn bike shop at 10am.   Kinda wish I hadn't :-/   Reluctant to reschedule (limited opening hours in winter) I managed to get it there by 11 before heading home for a soak in the bath.   It's been a predictably lazy day, Meg and I snoozing on the sofa again.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.