And Now ...

For something completely different.   First time flowering from seed, first of this type I have ever raised from seed.  Lachenalia vanzyliae, a South African bulbous plant, one of many from this genus that are found there.   They are not frost hardy, this one narrowly avoided being turned to mush in the big freeze before Christmas.  It's one of the tray full of mostly South African bulbs that I brought indoors when the temperature plummeted.   Lachenalia often have very bright, sometimes unusually coloured flowers, this one no exception.  The flowers are actually not fully open but it's still very striking and something different for  dull day.

A slow start as I continue to take it slower after losing most of a night's sleep on Friday.  I did get outside to tidy and sort things under the greenhouse benches and planted a few seeds.  There will soon be a lot more to do outside, just waiting for a bit of warmer weather.   I spent the whole afternoon at pottery painting glazes on my next pot.  It's a piece with added clay decoration on the outside which took a lot of care to glaze effectively. I'll find out how effectively in a week or two.   Meg had a walk at the point at sunset and got to chase her ball a bit too.  After a very grey day, there was a sunset and a brief show of golden light.

Off on travels again this week.   Hull tomorrow, Birmingham next Saturday.   I'll have to slow down a bit in April when I start working regularly again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.