WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Furled

A sure sign of being too busy and distracted to take any photos. S and T came over for lunch ... we ummed and ahed about whether we should eat outside, but in the end we went for it and it was perfect -- the sun shone and the wind dropped. An easy to prepare lunch -- ensalada tropical, grilled fish, baked potatoes, lemon cheesecake.

I had decided to make mojo picón, a chili based sauce, to go with the fish, but when S went to the spice shop they didn't have any of the right sort of chili peppers. "Use this mojo spice mix," advised the shop assistant. "I never do it any other way." I was very dubious when S told me she inauthentically mixes it with mayonnaise. I tried the "correct" way, with stale bread, lots of garlic, vinegar, and olive oil along with the spice mix. It was throat-raspingly sharp. So I inauthentically stirred in a spoonful of mayonnaise and everyone pronounced it excellent.

S and T left at about 4:30 -- they'd come on the bus, so S called a taxi and as usual it was there within 10 minutes. I've never been in a place with such a good and reasonably priced taxi service. We've been washing up and chilling since then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.